How many senators do we have in Nigeria?

The Nigerian Senate represents the legislative branch in the country being the upper house of the National Assembly (shortly abbreviated as NASS). How many senators do we have in Nigeria? Where can you view the list of all of them and figure out what district they represent? Keep reading and you will know everything about the current list of Nigerian senators.

Number of Nigerian Senate members

All the senators in Nigeria are 109 in number. This has been outlined in the country’s Constitution 19 years ago. Each of the 36 Nigerian states has three senatorial districts, and each one has to elect its own representative into the Senate. There is only one member of the Senate to represent the Federal Capital Territory.

3 years go the country elected its 109 senators in Nigeria till 2019 (exactly, the next year is very important for all the citizens). The current list of Nigerian senators represents the eighth National Assembly from 2015 to 2019.

List of Nigerian senators and their senatorial districts

So, here is a of all the senators in Nigeria led by Bukola Abubakar Saraki (Senate President) and his assistant Ike Ekweremadu.

1. Abia State

Theodore Ahamefule Orji (Central district)

Enyinnaya Harcourt Abaribe (Southern district)

Mao Arukwe Ohuabunwa (Northern district)

2. Adamawa State

Abdul-Aziz Murtala Nyako (Central district)

Binta Masi Garba (Northern district)

Ahmad Abubakar (Southern district)

3. Akwa Ibom State

Godswill Obot Akpabio (Northwestern district)

Nelson Asuquo Effiong (Southern district)

Bassey Akpan (Northeastern district)

4. Anambra State

Stella Oduah-Ogiemwonyi (Northern district)

Emmanuel Nnamdi Uba (Southern district)

Uche Ekwunife (Central district)

5. Bauchi State

Malam Ali Wakili (Southern district)

Sulaiman Mohammed Nazif (Northern district)

Isah Misau (Central district)

6. Bayelsa State

Ben Murray-Bruce (Eastern district)

Emmanuel Paulker (Central district)

Foster Ogola (Western district)

7. Benue State

Barnabas Andyar Iyorhyer Gemade (Northeastern district)

George Akume (Northwestern district)

David Mark (Southern district)

8. Borno State

Mohammed Ali Ndume (Southern district)

Abubakar Kyari (Northern district)

Baba Garba (Central district)

9. Cross River State

Gershom Henry Bassey (Southern district)

John Owan Enoh (Central district)

Rose Okoji Oko (Northern district)

10. Delta State

Peter Noeluka Nwaboshi (Northern district)

Ovie Omo-Agege (Central district)

James Manager (Southern district)

11. Ebonyi State

Joseph Obinna Ogba (Central district)

Sunday Ogbuoji (Southern district)

Sam Ominyi Egwu (Ebonyi-North)

12. Edo State

Francis Asekhame Alimikhena (Northern district)

Aisagbonriodion Urhoghide (Southern district)

Ordia Clifford (Central district)

13. Ekiti State

Duro Faseyi (Northern district)

Fatimat Raji-Rasaki (Central district)

Biodun Christine Olujimi (Southern district)

14. Enugu State

Gilbert Nnaji (Eastern district)

Ike Ekweremadu (Western district)

Utazi Chukwuka (Northern district)

15. Gombe State

Mohammed Danjuma Goje (Central district)

Joshua Moljobok (Southern district)

Usman Bayero Nafada (Northern district)

16. Imo State

Hope Uzodinma (Western district)

Samuel Anyanwu (Eastern district)

Ben Uwajumogu (Northern district)

17. Jigawa State

Muhammed Ubali Shitu (Northeastern district)

Abdullahi Gumel (Northwestern district)

Mohammed Sabo (Southwestern district)

18. Kaduna State

Shehu Sani (Central district)

Suleiman Hunkuyi (Northern district)

Danjuma Laah (Southern district)

19. Kano State

Jibrin I. Barau (Northern district)

Kabiru Gaya (Southern district)

Rabiu Kwankwaso (Central district)

20. Katsina State

Kurfi Umaru (Central district)

Abu Ibrahim (Southern district)

Mustapha Bukar (Northern district)

21. Kebbi State

Muhammad Adamu (Central district)

Bala Naallah (Southern district)

Yahaya Abdullahi (Northern district)

22. Kogi State

Ahmed Ogembe (Central district)

Atai Usman (Eastern district)

Dino Melaye (Western district)

23. Kwara State

Mohammed Lafiagi (Northern district)

Rafiu Ibrahim (Southern district)

Bukola Saraki (Central district)

24. Lagos State

Bareehu Ashafa (Eastern district)

Oluremi Tinubu (Central district)

Olamilekan Adeola (Western district)

25. Nasarawa State

Philip Aruwa Gyunka (Northern district)

Suleiman Asonya Adokwe (Southern district)

Abdullahi Adamu (Western district)

26. Niger State

David Umaru (Eastern district)

Sani Mohammed (Southern district)

Aliyu Abdullahi (Northern district)

27. Ogun State

Olanrewaju Tejuoso (Central district)

Buruji Kashamu (Eastern district)

Joseph Dada (Western district)

28. Ondo State

Omotayo Donald (Central district)

Robert Boroffice (Northern district)

Yele Omogunwa (Southern district)

29. Osun State

Olusola Adeyeye (Central district)

Omoworare Babajide (Eastern district)

Ademola Adeleke (Western district)

30. Oyo State

Abdulfatai Buhari (Northern district)

Rilwan Akanbi (Southern district)

Monsurat Sunmonu (Central district)

31. Plateau State

Jeremiah Useni (Southern district)

Johan Jang (Northern district)

Joshua Chibi Dariye (Central district)

32. Rivers State

George Sekibo (Eastern district)

Olaka Nwogu (Southeastern district)

Osinakachukwu Ideozu (Western district)

33. Sokoto State

Abdullahi Ibrahim (Southern district)

Aliyu Wamakko (Northern district)

Ibrahim Gobir (Eastern district)

34. Taraba State

Emmanuel Bwacha, con (Southern district)

Abubakar Sani (Northern district)

Yusuf Abubakar Yusuf (Central district)

35. Yobe State

Ahmed Lawan (Northern district)

Mohammed Hassan (Southern district)

Bukar Ibrahim (Eastern district)

36. Zamfara State

Tijjani Kaura (Northern district)

Kabir Garba (Central district)

Ahmad Sani (Western district)

37. Federal Capital Territory

You can always look up the current senators’ names on the National Assembly site:

Now you know how many senators are in Nigeria, what districts they represent and each of their names.


Post a comment