Showing posts with the label Nigeria senators

[ News ] Senator Adeleke Detained After Honouring Police Invitation

Just in: Senator Adeleke detained after honouring police invitation Ademola Adeleke, the Senator representing Osun West at the Senate,  had honoured an invitation at the Force Headquarters in Abuja before he was detained on Monday. The Federal High Court in Abuja had granted the senator the permission to travel to the United States of America for medical check-up. The trip had been scheduled for Tuesday, May 7. Justice Inyang Ekwo had ordered him to honour a fresh Police invitation on Monday before travelling the next day. He was, however, detained after obeying the court order. In reaction, the Peoples Democratic Party has protested the arrest and detention of its candidate in the 2018 Osun Governorship election. The party said the Police action was in total disregard for the extant order of the Federal High Court. “This is highly provocative, an invitation to anarchy and recipe for a very serious crisis, not only in Osun, but also in the judiciary and our polity as a nation

24 Senators Who Lost Reelection Bid [ Must Read

24 senators lose re-election bid Twenty-four out of the 66 senators who sought for a re-election into the 9th Senate have lost out at the National Assembly elections, which held alongside the Presidential elections last Saturday. A total of 33 senators earlier lost out in primary elections, which took place in October last year. The senators that sought for return bids, but lost at the polls, as declared by the Independent National Electoral Commissioner (INEC) are the President of the Senate, Dr. Bukola Saraki (PDP, Kwara Central), Godswill Akpabio (APC, Akwa Ibom West), Nazif Gamawa (PDP, Bauci) Rafiu Ibrahim (PDP, Kwara South), Tayo Ala soadura (APC, Ondo Central) and Yele Omogunwa (Ondo South). Others are Senators Suleiman Hunkuyi (PDP, Kaduna North), Monsurat Sunmonu (ADC, Oyo Central), Rilwan Adesoji (ADP, Oyo South), Abiodun Olujimi (PDP, Ekiti South), Duro Faseyi (PDP, Ekiti North), Mao Ohuabunwa (PDP, Abia North), Andy Uba (APC, Anambra South) and Victor Umeh (APC Anambra Ce